State of New Jersey Seal Official Site of The State of New Jersey

Trapper Education and Trapping Season Information

 

TRAPPING LICENSES ON SALE NOW!

Get Yours Online or at License Agents.

Trapper Education and Trapping Season Information

TRAPPER EDUCATION COURSES

Courses are offered in Late March/April and September/October of each year. Program materials will be provided to registered students. Students must attend both days of a two-day class (where applicable)

*Fall Trapper Education Classes will be held as follows:

  • October 20 (evening) and October 23
    Jamesburg Field & Stream Club (Manchester, Ocean County)
  • October 29 and 30
    Hackettstown Fish Hatchery (Hackettstown, Warren County)

(Specific location details will be sent at the time of registration)

To check Trapper Education Availability, Click link below, log into the system and Search the UPCOMING EVENTS

Trapper Education Course HERE

  1. Click the plus (+) sign to open up the Filter Options.
  2. Click on the Event Category filter where you will select the “TRAPPER EDUCATION” event type.
  3. Click the Search button to activate the filter to view when a Trapper Course is available. If no course is found, no course is available at that time. Check back at this site or search again at another time.

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

GENERAL INFORMATION

Modern, regulated trapping is used to manage habitat, monitor and control animal populations, protect and reintroduce endangered species, protect public and private property and conduct research. It is a technique for sustainable, consumptive use of the wildlife resource. In New Jersey there are trapping seasons for beaver, otter, mink, muskrat, eastern coyote, fox, opossum, raccoon, skunk and weasel.

In New Jersey, a Trapper Education course must be passed and a trapping license obtained to trap in the state. To use a cable-restraint a person must first pass a New Jersey Fish and Wildlife-approved trapper education course which includes use of snares and carry on their person appropriate documentation thereof. A person must be at least 12 years of age. When offered, course announcements will be posted on this page (usually in Late March/April and September/October).

All traps set or used must bear a legible tag of durable material with the name and address or Conservation Identification Number (CID#) of the person setting, using and maintaining the traps. Trappers previously assigned a New Jersey Fish and Wildlife-issued trap identification number may continue to use their assigned number in lieu of name and address or CID to mark each trap. However, please note that New Jersey Fish and Wildlife has ceased this practice and will no longer be issuing trap identification numbers.

All traps must be checked and tended at least once every 24 hours, preferably in the morning. When trapping beaver or otter, the trap tag must be clearly visible above the level of water or ice. Any person (including a farmer) who traps a coyote must notify a New Jersey Fish and Wildlife Law Enforcement office within 24 hours. Licensed trappers at least 18 years of age and in possession of a valid rifle permit may carry a .22 caliber rifle, and use only .22 caliber short rimfire cartridges to kill legally trapped animals

A lottery is held for the awarding of beaver and otter permits. The application period is October 1-31 each year; unclaimed and leftover permits are then sold over-the-counter at licence agents and online.

For more information please consult the appropriate section(s) of the Hunting & Trapping Digest.

Young trapper with beaver

NEWSLETTERS

The Upland Game and Furbearer Project began publication of the NJ Furbearer Management Newsletter with the Fall 2011 issue. Newsletters are published periodically and contain information about the state’s furbearing species, management, research and other items of interest to the trapping community.

SURVEYS and HARVEST DATA

ADDITIONAL LINKS

Printable 2022-23 Trapping Regulations

OPRA Logo
myNJ Portal Logo

Twitter Facebook Instagram YouTube

Copyright © State of New Jersey, 1996-2022
Department of Environmental Protection
P. O. Box 420
Trenton, NJ 08625
609-777-3373
Last Update: October 5th, 2022