drivegreen logo

NJ’s Greenhouse Gas Reduction Targets

Governor Murphy became a signatory of the State Zero-Emission Vehicles Programs MOU in 2018. As part of the Multi-State ZEV Task Force, which includes nine states in the Northeast, the Mid-Atlantic, and the West Coast, New Jersey will support deployment of 330,000 zero emission vehicles by 2025; the collective target for all ZEV Task Force states is 3.3 million by 2025. The task force will collaborate on infrastructure development, incentivizing EV adoptions, transitioning municipal fleets, and dealership and consumer education and outreach.

New Jersey's Greenhouse Gas Reduction Targets Including Clean Energy Act Mandates



The State’s 2019 Energy Master Plan states that the transportation sector should be almost entirely decarbonized by 2050, with an early focus on electrification of light-duty (passenger) vehicles and short-range medium- and heavy-duty vehicles, particularly in environmental justice communities. Deployment of 330,000 light duty electric vehicles on the road by 2025 is one the key commitments to that will enable New Jersey to meet this goal. Learn more about the State’s EMP transportation commitments at:

Nescaum Logo

About the ZEV Task Force

On October 24, 2013, the governors of eight states, joined by a ninth on May 3, 2018, signed a memorandum of understanding (MOU) committing to coordinated action to ensure the successful implementation of their state zero-emission vehicle (ZEV) programs. ZEVs include pure battery-electric vehicles (BEVs), plug-in hybrid electric vehicles (PHEVs), and hydrogen fuel cell electric vehicles (FCEVs). Collectively, these states are committed to having at least 3.3 million ZEVs operating on their roadways by 2025. The MOU identifies joint cooperative actions the signatory states will undertake, and additional actions that individual jurisdictions are considering, to build a robust market for ZEVs. For more information about the Task Force, see the Multi-State ZEV MOU and Multi-State ZEV Action Plan.